MERA/BAM/RERA to Hold Joint Energy Conference

The Malawi Energy Regulatory Authority (MERA) will host a series of events of the Regional Electricity Regulators’ Association of Southern Africa (RERA) from 11th to 16th November 2018 at the Bingu Wa Mutharika International Convention Centre in Lilongwe.


The events include a forum of the Board Members /Commissioners of the RERA member regulators, annual general meeting and conference. The conference, jointly organised by MERA, RERA and Bankers Association of Malawi (BAM) will be held under the theme; “Building and Regulating a Sustainable Energy Future: A Case for the SADC Region”.


The Conference opens participants to new ideas and perspectives by tapping into the experience and expertise of the members.  The event will be an outstanding opportunity for the energy sector regulators, industry leaders, development partners, policy makers, utilities/operators, investors, financiers and other relevant stakeholders in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region and other parts of the world to network and exchange information on pertinent energy related issues.


The conference will have, among others, have the following sessions with interesting topical regional issues:

  • Promoting Sustainable Infrastructure Development
  • Regulation for a Sustainable Energy Future
  • Harnessing the Regional Gas Resources – Issues and Options
  • Mobilising Financial Resources for Energy Infrastructure Development; and
  • Meeting the Universal Access to Affordable Modern Energy in the SADC Region.


It is anticipated that the conference will attract about 250 delegates from within the SADC region and beyond.


Official opening of the Energy Conference will be held on Tuesday, 13th November 2018 and will be graced by the Minister of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining Hon. Aggrey Masi, MP.


RERA, established in 2002 by SADC Ministers responsible for Energy, is premised on the following objectives: Capacity Building & Information Sharing; Facilitation of Electricity Supply Industry Policy, legislation and Regulations; and Regional Regulatory Cooperation. The Association has eleven-member energy regulators of the following countries Angola, Botswana eSwatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.